The Future of the Auto Industry

bnuungus

call me bun
Reaction score
Awards
I work in the auto-industry and my company helps to test parts of a car on the assembly line. We work a lot with GM and Ford as clients as well as some other OEMs and car manufacturers. We all know the general plan for selling solely electric cars within the next decade or so but what scares me is the fact that neither GM nor Ford seem to be developing anything remotely affordable to your average person. Ford came out with the Mach-E and the Lightning, both of which are over $50k if you buy from a dealer. GM came out with the Lyriq and is coming out with the Celestiq next year. The Lyriq is priced at around $64K and the Celestiq will be

drum roll please
THREE HUNDRED THOUSAND DOLLARS!!
(side note: I've seen this thing in person and yes it is quite an impressive car but it's no way worth that much)

Even if you're able to afford paying a loan every single month to buy one of these things, repairing the car should anything go wrong is going to be nearly impossible due to how electrically complex these things are. Everything is connected to a module, modules that no mechanic wants to touch. I personally live in an area that's extremely rough on cars so I'm guessing any of those machines will only last around 5 years at most before you need to buy a new one. You think your average person can pay off a loan that big in 5 years? I make a pretty decent salary and I definitely couldn't.