Strange Telephone Calls

• Thread starter mast
  • Start date
  • This thread has been viewed 7159 times.

Archangel

Internet Refugee
Reaction score
Awards
I just get spam calls so I never pick up 90% of the time. Who ever had my phone number before probably wasn't a very bright guy and just gave it out to random obvious scam sites.
Sometimes get a phone call that is just 3 seconds of silence, followed by a woman's voice that says "Goodbye" and hangs up.
probably just someone who misdialed and only realized it after you picked up.

Virtual Cafe Awards

ETierhuman

MAIN EVENT ETIER IS NOW IN YOUR FORUM!!!!!
Reaction score
Awards
A personal story of mine:

I've been a computer hacker for the entirety of my formative years. (A programmer by trade and a a hacker out of curiosity) When I was younger, war dialing was a major part of trying to find computers to hack into (Looking for login prompts). I would go through blocks of telephone numbers 1 by 1 until I could find a login prompt as a kid. This particular set of numbers had a Wyoming area code attached to it. Started the dialing process at about 11 at night and hit the hay because I had to be up for school in the morning.

The state of Wyoming at one point at the most Nuclear Ballistic missile sites in the country at the height of the cold war. Well at this time, that was still a thing. I had hit a block of Department of Defense phone numbers that must have been attached to those missile sites because after that night/morning, my house would receive phone calls with nobody else on the other end of the line and would hear the occasional beep (I assume they were recording) And would hear ambient noise in the background like people were actively moving around and doing things. this went on for a month straight at all hours of the day.

Made me paranoid as hell and I stopped war dialing for a while after this.
"@FBI Yes, this is should something you should look into."

Virtual Cafe Awards