discworld and anything discworld related!

goldenvirginiafan53

member of the unseen university
Reaction score
Awards
hello everyone! i am a noob but i thought i would just ask has anybody here ever read or encountered terry pratchett's wonderfully strange fantasy series discworld? i have a good portion of the books and am on my sixth one - wyrd sisters - and have completely fallen in love with it. i guess if enough people know of this series this thread can be used as a general discussion place??

iu

Virtual Cafe Awards

Taleisin

Lab-coat Illuminatus
Bronze
Reaction score
Awards
I absolutely love discworld, I read all of them a good while ago. Pratchett is one of the greatest fantasy authors of all time.

Virtual Cafe Awards

goldenvirginiafan53

Reaction score
Awards
I read a couple of the books when I was younger but, it's forever since I've read one. Should I get back into the series?
i would definitely recommend so! i read a few very young and coming back to it i can appreciate the humour a lot more. some of the books deal with a lot of heavy issues with a certain candour that can only be appreciated when you are a little older. i remember enjoying them as a kid because of all the silly characters and whatnot but now i appreciate them a lot more because im older?

Virtual Cafe Awards

Taleisin

Lab-coat Illuminatus
Bronze
Reaction score
Awards
If anyone is wondering where to start with discworld, here's my advice:

Do not read them in release order. Pick a group of characters (eg: the witches, death) and read the books about them in chronological order. Then decide on another group and continue. I'd suggest not starting with the Unseen University books, and reading the sam vimes books last as they go furthest in chronological order.

Virtual Cafe Awards

goldenvirginiafan53

Reaction score
Awards
If anyone is wondering where to start with discworld, here's my advice: