The constant creation of content

karamuki

tired occasional traveler
Reaction score
Awards
Website
karamuki.neocities.org
I should start by saying that I'm a graphic designer. I do a lot of social media work due to this as well.
This is a thought that came to my mind many months ago while working on an Instagram post and I thought I'd like to share it here.

I find it seemingly overwhelming that my occupation is to create 'content.' That I am to add to massive pool of already massive amounts of content seemingly with an end goal in mind of influencing a viewer or consumer. It is not that it is not meaningful content but that it is more...adding more files to someone's limited hard drive space or internal system memory, using up more of a person's internet bandwidth, and to what end?

I'm being paid to take up someone's time, I'm being paid to add more to the ever increasing amount of content being created every single day around the world. It feels...wasteful. I no longer go on social media anymore (except YouTube) as it is clear to me there is no benefit to me or to anyone anymore and the Instagram content I make as a job is so worthless.

Where is the ceiling of this content pool? When will it start overflowing and content creation just dies out? When will we, as an internet collective, decide, in marketing, design, and internet culture, to remove content instead of generating it?