[VST02] Hex-A-Decimal Making Vaporwave Method (5 years of Experience)

This tutorial was written from /r/makingvaporwave's own VST series! This is VST02 by Hex-A-Decimal of LOST ANGLES Label

0015278040_10.jpeg

Howdy, folks! I'm sure a few of you know me, but for those who don't I'm Hex-A-Decimal. I've been producing electronic music for about 5 years now, and I co-own the vw label Lost Angles.

I'm super critical of my work and a bit of a concept-perfectionist, so very little of my stuff has actually been uploaded or released. As such, I'll explain my method of making vaporwave music using the Fan Tan District demo as the result.

So I personally like to start a lot of my music off with a concept first. I feel like it helps flesh out what elements of the song I want to pop.

I've done retroactive concepts for songs I made in the past but I tend to grasp for straws so its better I know what the story is ahead of time so everything makes more sense. In this track's case, its a sort of noir theme where a cop needs to turn to a mob boss in a seedy district to get some off-the-record assistance on a case.

Knowing this, I have my themes. I wanted to dip into the Eastern aesthetic so I sampled a segment of a tape called "Traditional Chinese Opera". I had gotten this digitally from a huge archive of underground cassettes that was uploaded a few months back, found here. Now, here's where I get a little weird and technical so just bear with me.

https://archive.org/details/noise-arch

View: https://soundcloud.com/hex-a-decimal/fan-tan-district